References

Edwards, D. (2013, November 18). Fox Business host: Maybe “something about the female brain” makes women bad tech CEOs. Raw Story. Retrieved from http://www.rawstory.com/rs/2013/11/18/fox-business-host-maybe-something-about-the-female-brain-makes-women-bad-tech-ceos/

Field Museum. (2013, August 8). The Brain Scoop’s Emily Graslie talks with Chicago Tonight. About Us. The Field Museum. Retrieved from http://fieldmuseum.org/about/brain-scoop%E2%80%99s-emily-graslie-talks-chicago-tonight

Flood, A. (2011, May 6). Study finds huge gender imbalance in children’s literature: New research reveals male characters far outnumber females, pointing to “symbolic annihilation of women and girls”. The Guardian. Retrieved from http://www.theguardian.com/books/2011/may/06/gender-imbalance-children-s-literature

Friedman, A. (2014, January 8). Tech women are busy building their own networks. Washington Post. Retrieved from http://www.washingtonpost.com/lifestyle/style/tech-women-are-busy-building-their-own-networks/2014/01/08/60e356f2-7874-11e3-af7f-13bf0e9965f6_story.html

Holmes, R. (2013, November 6). Why the tech industry is (still) failing women. Ryan Holmes. LinkedIn. Retrieved from http://www.linkedin.com/today/post/article/20131106191227-2967511-why-the-tech-industry-is-still-failing-women?_mSplash=1

Krulwich, R. (2013, November 30). Science Reporter Emily Graslie Reads Her Mail — And It’s Not So Nice. Krulwich Wonders. National Public Radio. Retrieved from http://www.npr.org/blogs/krulwich/2013/11/30/247842138/science-reporter-emily-graslie-reads-her-mail-and-it-s-not-so-nice

Lanir, L. (2013, November 25). Joss Whedon answers: “Why use strong female characters?” Digital Journal. Retrieved from http://www.digitaljournal.com/article/360882

Lepi, K. (2013, October 12). Why Are Girls Not Pursuing Computer Science Degrees? Trends. Edudemic. Retrieved from http://www.edudemic.com/girls-computer-science-degrees/

Nijhuis, M. (2013, December 18). One weird old trick to undermine the patriarchy. The Last Word on Nothing. Retrieved from http://www.lastwordonnothing.com/2013/12/18/one-weird-old-trick/

Saujani, R. (2014, May 13). Get to girls before negative stereotyping starts. New York Times. Retrieved from http://www.nytimes.com/roomfordebate/2014/05/12/teaching-code-in-the-classroom/teach-coding-to-girls-before-negative-stereotyping-starts

Schwartz, K. (2013, April 24). Giving good praise to girls: What messages stick. Mind/Shift: How we will learn. KQED. Retrieved from http://blogs.kqed.org/mindshift/2013/04/giving-good-praise-to-girls-what-messages-stick/

Leave a Reply